Is Ziggy the Ansah?

Welcome to the most predictable headline you could possibly imagine. I know it’s corny. That’s why I love it. I would go with Gettin’ Ziggy with It, but I think I saw it was a newspaper headline already. I have a strange fascination with name pun headlines. Just go ahead and ignore me.

Aaaaaanyway. By now, you probably know that the Lions took Ziggy Ansah with the #5 overall pick last night. If you’re not familiar with him, here’s a quick rundown on him. Immediately, Lions fans took to the internet to complain or celebrate (or some mixture of the two). He’s an intriguing prospect. You can’t help but be excited by his incredible size, speed, and athletic ability, and you can’t help but be terrified by his inexperience. My immediate reaction was to hate the pick. I knew I would hate it. I always hate it. In a few days, we’ll see if I come around to it. Any other major sports media source can give you the same old pros and cons list about why it is or is not a good pick, so I won’t repeat those here. I know you come here for the hard-hitting journalism (and sweet headlines). So without further ado, here’s my alternative reasoning for why it is or is not a good pick.

Why I like him

  1. I used to have a cat named Ziggy. Although that was short for Zigfried I think and not Ezekiel.
  2. My favorite cartoon as a child was Ziggy.

    ziggy

    At least it’s not as bad as Cathy

  3. My friend Martin is from Ghana.
  4. Kyle Vanden Bosch is gone.
  5. His 3D glasses are a pretty awesome satirical statement about recent draft pick fashion trends if that’s what he was going for.

    Ahem, Nick Fairley

  6. The Lions didn’t trade up.
  7. Awesome punny headline possibilities, obviously.

Why I don’t like him

  1. The 3D glasses, while awesome, didn’t actually look all that good.
  2. Matt Millen (I don’t know how he factors into this, but I feel like this is relevant)
  3. His lack of an arrest record means he will have a hard time fitting in with the team.
  4. Matt Millen.

In all seriousness, this reasoning is as good as any other that we can give as fans. The vast majority of Lions fans have never seen him play (not counting Youtube), seen him practice, coached him, scouted him, or talked with him. The Detroit Lions have done their homework. They coached him at the Senior Bowl. They have coaches that know far more about football than I could ever hope to. And even then, they don’t know if it is a good pick or not. That hasn’t been decided yet. I think we can all agree that he’s a very good scheme fit and has no physical limitations. The only question is whether or not he will live up to his potential. That’s why it’s called a “boom or bust” pick. So all we can do is guess which it is and wait and see. So in that spirit, here’s a poll for how you grade the pick.

One thought on “Is Ziggy the Ansah?

  1. I’ve got to hand it to you, you had the only mock draft that called this one.

    #6 – The Shocker

Leave a Reply

